Welcome Page Home DUI Success Stories Office Locations Experience
Welcome Page
Home
DUI Success Stories
Office Locations
Experience
Legal Practice
Felony Charges
DUI
DUI Questions
Articles
DUI-Kane County
DUI-Dupage
DUI-Kendall
DUI-DeKalb
Contact Me
Inquiry Form
Legal Rates
License
DUI Attorneys
Illinois DUI Attorney
Summary Suspension
Aurora DUI Attorney
  

Illinois Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

1st Offense

First Drunk Driving Conviction

If you are convicted for drunk driving in the State of Illinois, the first offense will result in a minimum 1 year suspension of your drivers license. In addition, you may be imprisoned for up to one year and fined up to $2,500. If the driver was transporting a person under the age of 16 at the time of the violation, is subject to an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, an additional mandatory minimum 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours of community service in a program benefiting children, and an additional 2 days of imprisonment.

2nd Offense

Second Drunk Driving Conviction

For your second drunk driving conviction in Illinois, you will receive a Minimum 3 year suspension of your drivers license. You will also receive a mandatory 48 hours in jail or 10 days of community service. You may receive up to 1 year in jail for your second drunk driving conviction in Illinois and a maximum fine of $2,500. If, at the time of the second violation the person was transporting a person under the age of 16, the driver is subject to an additional 10 days of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and an additional mandatory minimum 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours of community service in a program benefiting children.

3rd Offense

Third Drunk Driving Conviction

If you are unfortunate enough to receive your 3rd drunk driving conviction in Illinois you will receive a minimum 6 year loss of your driving privileges and you may be imprisoned for up to 3 years. In addition, you will also receive a maximum fine of $10,000. If, at the time of the third violation, the person was transporting a person under the age of 16, the driver is guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall receive, in addition to any other penalty imposed, an additional mandatory fine of $1,000, an additional mandatory 140 hours of community service, which shall include 40 hours in a program benefiting children, and a mandatory minimum 30 days of imprisonment.

2009 - New DUI Laws in Effect in Illinois

IL S 300 - Starting January 1st, 2009, any person arrested and convicted of a DUI must install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) if they want driving relief during their driver license suspension. With the BAIID device installed the driver must submit a breath test every time the wish to start their vehicle. For more information please contact me.

Welcome Page | Home | DUI Success Stories | Office Locations | Experience
Site Map